Columbus, Ohio – Mount Carmel Health System recently announced that Amy Dickson, PharmD, MBA, BCPS, will serve as the new Regional Chief Pharmacy Officer (CPO) for the health system, effective November 14, 2022.

Dr. Dickson will lead pharmacy services for all four hospitals, outpatient ambulatory services, retail pharmacy and population health pharmacy teams. Her strategic, clinical and operational oversight will support more than 270 colleagues helping Ohioans achieve their best health outcomes through medication therapy. Dr. Dickson will also collaborate with the pharmacy leaders at parent company Trinity Health to enhance care through system initiatives.

“Amy brings a wealth of pharmaceutical knowledge, a passion for advocacy and a desire to do more for our patients,” said Mount Carmel President and CEO Lorraine Lutton. “She’s a well-respected leader in the Central Ohio and healthcare communities who’s driven by innovation and a desire to increase access to care.”

Dr. Dickson comes to Mount Carmel from OhioHealth where she spent nearly 20 years working in several pharmacy roles—most recently serving as the Senior Director of pharmacy services for population health. During the COVID-19 pandemic, Dr. Dickson led the system’s COVID-19 pharmacy response and vaccine rollouts resulting in mass vaccinations.  She also worked with the Ohio Board of Pharmacy to change rules to better serve patients during the pandemic. Her experience will complement and enhance Mount Carmel’s current efforts to manage COVID and other viruses.

The Board-Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist received her Doctor of Pharmacy from Ohio Northern University followed by a residency at Riverside Methodist Hospital.

She also earned a Master of Business Administration from Ball State University.

Deeply involved in her industry and locally, Dr. Dickson is a member of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), the American Pharmacists Association (APhA), the Ohio Pharmacists Association (OPA), the Ohio Society of Health-System Pharmacists (OSHP), the Central Ohio Society of Health-System Pharmacists (COSHP), Vizient Pharmacy Executive Committee, the Ohio Pharmacy Leadership Collaborative and the American College of Healthcare Executives. She and her prior team were also the recipient of the American Pharmacists Association Pinnacle Award in 2020.